

December 2017, vol. 12 no. 3

## Message from our Co-founders

With the passage of Bill 166 on December 13, 2017 by the Liberal government in Ontario, we are taking a step back to look at the landscape.

We all know that the contents of the Bill do virtually nothing for consumers and, although its passage was not unexpected, we are nevertheless disappointed.

At the same time, we are tremendously encouraged. We did not expect to see **wall to wall support** among the opposition parties by voting against this Bill – but they did! We asked for their support and we received it -- en masse!

Conservatives, NDP and Trillium Party MPPs *all* said no to Bill 166 – 43 of them against a Liberal majority of 50 votes. This kind of broad-based support sends a clear message to all that says, "CPBH, YOU'RE RIGHT! This Bill should not go through!" We extend our sincere thanks to all MPPs who voted against Bill 166. Thank you for recognizing our hard work as solid consumer advocates.

What's more, despite Wednesday's vote, this Bill may never have any effect, depending on the 2018 election.

The Liberal government has walked away from tens of thousands of new home buyers – over 63,000 of them last year alone – to side with the builders. They have tried to set aside the Judge Cunningham's roadmap for a fair and equitable framework for new home warranties, building code enforcement and dispute resolution. Their talk of "Consumers First" and "Fairness" is empty.

Premier Wynne is convinced that this is not an election issue. **Well, together, we will determine that it is an election issue.** And we can take action to be sure she knows that she is once again wrong.

And how will we do that? Here's what you can do now:

- Help us get more signatures on the petition. Numbers are going up and we are over 1000. Let's keep that momentum going. Again, here's the link to the petition: <a href="https://tinyurl.com/z6ysez8">https://tinyurl.com/z6ysez8</a>.
- Let every candidate who asks for your vote know that you want the Tarion monopoly ended, and Justice Cunningham's other recommendations implemented.
- If your MPP voted against Bill 166, contact him/her and say thank you! If your MPP is Liberal, and therefore voted for Bill 166, tell him/her how disappointed you are with their vote. The lists of MPP who voted for and against Bill 166 are attached and their contact information is here: <a href="http://www.ontla.on.ca/web/members/member\_addresses.do?locale=en">http://www.ontla.on.ca/web/members/member\_addresses.do?locale=en</a> . Here is the CPBH news release: <a href="http://www.ontla.on/yckoa7ff">tinyurl.com/yckoa7ff</a>

We have a lot of work to do in the next 6 months before **#Election2018**.

So let's move forward with confidence and **#NeverGiveUp** .

"It always seems impossible until it's done." Nelson Mandela

**We still need your help**. CPBH needs funding for basic operating costs like web site hosting and maintenance, Directors' liability insurance and general office expenses. Our funding comes exclusively from donations from folks like you. We receive no government support and, while we are proud of our independence and non-partisanship, we must ask you once again to help us keep the doors open.

## Our 40 volunteers across the country give their time generously for free. That demonstrates their commitment to CPBH and inspires ours.

## Please take a moment to show you value CPBH's work and include us in your festive season giving:

http://www.canadiansforproperlybuilthomes.com/html/donate/index.html

Finally, we wish you a happy and safe holiday season. In the new year, let's keep working together toward our vision: Healthy, safe, durable, energy efficient residential housing for Canadians.

## Karen Somerville and Alan Greenberg



Canadians for Properly Built Homes (CPBH) is a national, not for profit corporation dedicated to healthy, safe, durable, energy efficient residential housing for Canadians, and is the only organization of its kind in Canada. Working for consumer awareness and protection, CPBH is run by a volunteer Board of Directors and is supported by a volunteer Advisory Council of industry experts and other key stakeholders. CPBH earned "partner" status with the Canadian Consumer Information Gateway (Industry Canada).

 Visit our Web site:
 www.canadiansforproperlybuilthomes.com
 Questions
 Comments
 Sponsorship

 Opportunities:
 info@canadiansforproperlybuilthomes.com
 Follow us on Twitter
 @CPBH01 & 

You have received this newsletter as a friend or a person interested in new home construction in Canada, or because you have subscribed via email or telephone. If you would prefer to no longer receive this kind of email, you may <u>unsubscribe</u> at any time.

Your privacy is important to us – we do not share our lists with anyone.

**Properly Built Times** is published by Canadians for Properly Built Homes, a Canadian not for profit, national association: <u>www.canadiansforproperlybuilthomes.com</u> | © Canadians for Properly Built Homes, 2017 | Copyright permissions may be requested in writing: <u>info@canadiansforproperlybuilthomes.com</u> | ISSN: 1718-0996 |

**Design: Design 2000 Communications** 

Unofficial Hansard – Bill 166 – re Tarion – Dec. 13, 2017 – The PCs, the NDP and MPP Jack MacLaren (Trillium Party) all voted against this.	

Armstrong, Teresa J.	Gélinas, France	Oosterhoff, Sam
Arnott, Ted	Gretzky, Lisa	Pettapiece, Randy
Bailey, Robert	Hardeman, Ernie	Romano, Ross
Barrett, Toby	Hatfield, Percy	Sattler, Peggy
Bisson, Gilles	Horwath, Andrea	Scott, Laurie
Brown, Patrick	Jones, Sylvia	Smith, Todd
Campbell, Sarah	MacLaren, Jack	Tabuns, Peter
Cho, Raymond Sung Joo	on MacLeod, Lisa	Taylor, Monique
Clark, Steve	Mantha, Michael	Thompson, Lisa M.
Coe, Lorne	Martow, Gila	Vanthof, John
DiNovo, Cheri	McDonell, Jim	Walker, Bill
Fedeli, Victor	McNaughton, Monte	Yakabuski, John
Fife, Catherine	Miller, Norm	Yurek, Jeff
French, Jennifer K.	Natyshak, Taras	
iates, Wayne	Nicholls, Rick	

Unofficial Hansard – Bill	166 – re Tarion – Dec. 13, 20	) 17 – The Liberals all voted
Ayes		
Albanese, Laura	Duguid, Brad	McMeekin, Ted
Anderson, Granville	Flynn, Kevin Daniel	Milczyn, Peter Z.
Baker, Yvan	Fraser, John	Moridi, Reza
Ballard, Chris	Hoggarth, Ann	Naidoo-Harris, Indira
Berardinetti, Lorenzo	Hoskins, Eric	Naqvi, Yasir
Bradley, James J.	Hunter, Mitzie	Potts, Arthur
Chan, Michael	Jaczek, Helena	Qaadri, Shafiq
Chiarelli, Bob	Kiwala, Sophie	Rinaldi, Lou
Colle, Mike	Lalonde, Marie-France	Sandals, Liz
Coteau, Michael	Leal, Jeff	Sousa, Charles
Crack, Grant	Malhi, Harinder	Takhar, Harinder S.
Damerla, Dipika	Mangat, Amrit	Thibeault, Glenn
Del Duca, Steven	Martins, Cristina	Vernile, Daiene
Des Rosiers, Nathalie	Matthews, Deborah	Wong, Soo
Dhillon, Vic	Mauro, Bill	Wynne, Kathleen O.
Dickson, Joe	McGarry, Kathryn	Zimmer, David
Dong, Han	McMahon, Eleanor	

The ayes are 50; the nays are 43.